A Mother’s Child Is Her Very Soul

Well, my sister was down visiting this weekend all the way from Quebec with her husband and two kids. It was fantastic to see them all. Being 13 hours away doesn’t leave much room for visits, other than once or twice a year. They braved it and camped out at their house, which is currently “under construction”. We didn’t get to do everything as planned this time around but it was still great to hang out and spend time together.

While she and I were talking one evening the subject of being a mom as opposed to being a dad got brought up.

I know that sometimes even I feel like I give my kids too much special treatment and very often I feel as though I worry about them more than the average mother should! I am constantly chasing my oldest around and always worried about what “could” happen rather than what is happening. It can be distracting, I will admit, but if I can put it into words it’s easiest to say that I feel like my children are the very essence of my soul.

A Father plays the role of “Toughness” in his child’s life. He teaches his child to be tough and rough and to scare things off rather than to be scared by them. He teaches his child strength. But I don’t know if I can truly say a mother and father have the same abilities. A mother carries her child for 9 months in the womb before the child comes out and faces the world. During that time the mother becomes attached, very attached. She has never even met the child or held him/her, but she knows the child because she knows herself. So when the child is born it is like her soul is coming to life and she will do whatever it takes, through life and death, to keep that child safe.

So yes, at times a mother may over react or treat her child like a baby when they are much much older. She may spoil her child at times just to see the smile on his or her face. She may be scared when her child is scared and she may not care about how crazy she looks if it means saving her child from pain or disaster.

To say it lightly here is a quote by Rajneesh: The moment a child is born, the mother is also born.  She never existed before.  The woman existed, but the mother, never.  A mother is something absolutely new. ~

Peace, Tanya

 

This entry was posted in Being a Mom. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Mother’s Child Is Her Very Soul

  1. Vanessa says:

    I like to think my kid’s father and I take turns, show different views on strength and etc. I’ve taught my little girl things daddy has taught my little boy and vice versa. I think it’s nice to take on a little of both roles.

Leave a Reply

