Wouldn’t It Be Nice To Shut Off The World Sometimes?

The other night as I was having a nice hot bubble bath with a candle lit and the lights off and kids asleep, I thought, Wouldn’t it be nice if sometimes the world could just be shut off?

By that I simply mean to shut off all the negative, all the sadness, all the despair, all the things that weigh people down.

I could go back a day, a week, a month, or even a whole year! Just this past week there has been so much on the news for the remembrance of September 11th, 2001. And then there’s that little boy Keenan who was recently abducted from his home in BC. And not to mention all of the hurricanes and tropical storms we’ve been having.

For me personally, and I am sure many of you out there as well, I feel as tho it is so easy to get all wrapped up around everything that is happening and to get all wrapped up in Facebook and Texting and Emailing. To get wrapped up in work and all the drama that is going on there. Sometimes I forget to just stop and count my blessings! For that reason it would be so lovely if they would create a National “Shut Off The World Day” (Christmas doesn’t count lol…). But since it doesn’t exist and it probably never will, I’ve taken the liberty to ask my family to do this with me sometime in the fall. Just an evening spent with family, food, some drinks, games, and good old conversation! No phones, no TV (not even the kids), no Facebook. Just the simple blessing of being in good company with the ones we love. And, oh, lights off and candles lit of course!

 

~Tanya~

This entry was posted in Life in P.E.I, Today's Topic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

