A two-year old is kind of like having a blender, but you don’t have a top for it.

Last week I decided it was time to take control and begin a routine around here, more so for evenings. I have been running on very little sleep lately (last 2 years plus having been pregnant and having to wake up to pee, so guess we should make that 3 years). Some days I will just break down in tears and then start laughing. I’m pretty overwhelmed and I think it is the lack of sleep.

So I decided to read up and ask for advice on how to get [at least] Ryver to start sleeping his nights. I was told the best way was to stop giving him a bottle at night to rely on to go to sleep. To just let him cry and eventually after a few nights he’d learn to put himself back to sleep without any assistance. And so I tried…for an hour…

I just couldn’t do it! He’d start crying and then Lewis would wake up and then I was standing there listening to both of them scream. The easy way out was to give them their bottles and let them fall back asleep. Then I felt like I had failed myself.

Ryver is a bit of a handful sometimes and it takes a little extra patience with him. But I am slowly learning that no matter how hard I try or what advice people give me, I am never going to be a perfect parent and I am probably never going to achieve perfect parenting. I hear some mothers talk about the schedule they have set for their kids on a daily basis, but I can’t keep up with that.

I was so worried when I started potty training Ryver! I thought he’d never get it because he hated having to sit on the potty. I stressed myself out trying to figure out a way to get him to just do it. Low and behold, one day he just did it his way without help and he got it. Recently he’s started using the toilet without being told to either.

I guess what I am saying is that I know this whole very-little-sleep pattern is going to change and call me crazy but I’m okay with it. I know one day I will get a full 8 hours sleep again. This is just a phase. It’s so not worth stressing myself out over the fact that I don’t feel like I am a imperfect parent because my kids don’t have a routine.

But thank God for coffee and wine!

~Tanya~

This entry was posted in Today's Topic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

