New Years Resolution: One Day At A Time

As New Years approaches we all get prepared to set our resolutions. The two most popular being “Lose Weight” and “Quit Smoking”.

The only problem is that most of us fail and four weeks later we’re back to where we started.

I have always had a fascination with diet and exercise. I still remember being 12 and counting calories! As I got older it stuck with me more and more everyday. But no matter how hard I tried I could never (even to this day) stick to a plan. I always mess up because I get cravings or I don’t want to workout because I am tired. And then after three days of doing nothing I just go into a slump and continue doing nothing. As long as I keep a good weight then I just don’t worry about it.

The problem is right there! Weight. Don’t most of us work out to lose weight or maintain a healthy weight? What about the more important matter at hand? What about our hearts? Did you know that heart disease was the leading cause of death among women these days, and cancer is right behind it? Why don’t most of us make that our goal as to why we want to be eating and living healthy? When the weight comes off then that’s a bonus.

In a book I just read she mentioned staying healthy for our kids and our loved ones. We should want to stay healthy so we can try to live longer so we can be around for those who love us and need us here.

I think another major cause of diet crashing is that we live in a day and age where we are now used to getting everything right away. We type something into Google and we have an answer in half a second. We need food right away so we go through a drive thru. We have phones and internet to make things go faster. We have “On the go” foods and drinks. Everything now is all about speed. So when we decide to go on a diet or start eating healthier and we don’t see results right away, we think “Why am I giving up the foods I love for nothing?” We get angry, I know cause I have felt it and I feel it everytime I decide to give up the junk and get serious.

As New Years approaches I have one goal in mind for my healthy lifestyle…to take it one day at a time. I don’t want to overwhelm myself by this “forever” tormenting. Today is about drinking lots of water, eating my fruits and veggies, and staying relaxed. Tomorrow I might fail and do none of that and have cake. But today I choose to stay healthy. It’s all about taking it one day at a time and not getting overwhelmed about it.

So stay clean, stay healthy, and stay happy. And to all, Happy New Years Resolutions! đŸ™‚

~Tanya~

This entry was posted in Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

