You Don’t Know What You Have Until All You Have Are Pennies….

Many years ago, back when I was “Subway Tanya”, I drove through the drive thru at Tim Horton’s with two people I cared (and still care) deeply for. They were in such high spirits and then I saw them pull out some rolled pennies and that’s what they paid for their coffee with.

There was a big part of me that was memorized by that single act. A memory that has stuck with me forever. I may have seen it in a totally different perspective though. I mean, so what, they paid with pennies….what’s the big deal?

See I was earning a steady income, living with my sister in a apartment, had friends and freedom. There wasn’t much to complain about and yet I was finding a lot of flaws in things that my life was surrounded by. So from my perspective I just saw two very happy people, not rich by any means, finding joy in Tim Tim Horton’s coffee. And mostly, finding joy in pennies.

There is a saying that goes, “You don’t know what you have until it’s gone.”

I want to go out on a limb here and say, I think that when we are down in our luck and we don’t have a lot of money or things, there is a genuine side of us that comes out. We may never have even known it was in us, but I think we start to see things in color when we let go of or lose things we never really needed in the first place. When greed and envy and jealousy are gone, when we don’t have much money, when there are only a few items of clothing to our name, when we are limited to say the least, that’s when we start to see the beauty in what we have. We turn to those we love and really start to take a good hard look at what makes them so special to us. We look at ourselves and our own lives and evaluate everything from who we have become to where we want to be. We find rolled coins tucked away in the back of a closet that we had forgotten about because our paychecks were always so big. And when we spend those coins, we buy things that REALLY make us happy.

Sometimes life takes things away from us. Sometimes its forever and sometimes its just temporary. I like to believe that when life does that, it’s to wake us up.

And to say it lightly but truthfully, we should be trying to wake ourselves up. Maybe if we could just see all the pleasures in everything simple and delicate in our lives, life wouldn’t have to wake us up so much.

~Tanya~

This entry was posted in Today's Topic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

