What Fitness Means To Me

Many years ago a woman showed me a picture of a fitness model she saw on a Self magazine and said, “I want to look like this next year!” I admired her aspiration but knew it was a long shot.

But was it really an unreasonable thought to have? I mean, after all, most of the DVD’s and posters out now are about getting fit in 90 days or less. “Do this everyday and you’ll be ripped in 12 weeks or less!”

It’s a thought pattern we all fall for, even myself. I bought Jillian Michael’s ‘Ripped in 30’ thinking I’d be ripped like her in 30 days! C’mon…the woman has been at this for 20+ years and does a hell of a lot more than 20 minutes a day.

To date, I have had two babies. My eldest is 2.5 years old and my youngest is just over a year old. In between pregnancies I did try to keep at working out, but after a week or two I just gave up. But 10 weeks ago something clicked and I knew I had to get my ass in gear because I just wasn’t happy. I was actually getting pretty lazy! So I started small and worked my way up.

I am now 10 weeks in and for the last few weeks I have been doing ‘6 Week 6 Pack’ & ‘Killer Buns and Thighs’ by Jillian Michael’s, back to back everyday for 5-6 days a week. And now on Monday I will be following her new Body Revolution from month 2 and forward. I tried a couple of the workouts already and LOVE them! In two words: Challenging & FUN!

Where do I get my motivation? From being in it so long I guess. In the beginning I was at about 3 days a week doing a really simple workout and would use a lot of excuses not to workout. But as I got more into it and stepped things up, I just don’t want to quit and my body just WON’T let me!!

For me tho, it’s not all about the results. I see a few changes, especially in my arms, but for me fitness is about the challenge. It’s about seeing how far I can push myself. And when I am done the workout(s), I love to feel great about what I just did and look forward to doing it again the next day.

Yes, I do hope I look great in a bikini this summer. Hope people say to me, “Damn girl! You’ve had kids? No way!” But that’s not why I do it. My mom passed away of a terrible disease that kills many women, Breast Cancer. Ever since, I’ve been terrified of those two words put together. I just want to do what I can to protect myself. I know I can’t run from it, but I can fight and try to stay healthy. I want to do this for the health of my heart, I want to do this to stay strong and healthy, I want to do this for my kids so I can be around and watch them grow up and have the energy to be a kid with them! So no, for me it’s not all about the bikini body.

If you’ve lost your motivation, and I have MANY times up till now, just start small. Don’t get crazy, drop your expectations (because results take time!), don’t stop eating crappy foods all the time (you will fail, I promise…allow yourself some leeway and do the best you can), and most of all…have FUN with it. Blare music, laugh, dance. Cause if your not having fun then it is just work and no one likes work! Gotta have some fun with it.

If you are looking for some cool video’s I also have some uploaded under the “Fitness” board on my Pinterest account.

Stay sexy all!

~Tanya~

This entry was posted in Today's Topic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

