Why We Don’t Know Our Future and Why We Shouldn’t

The other night I was having a crazy chocolate craving but was unable to get my hands on any chocolate. So I told my hubby that on grocery day I was going to buy $10-$20 dollars worth of chocolate.

Needless to say, I’m a fitness junky and by the time grocery day rolled around I wasn’t craving it as much. But because my man is a sweetheart and knows me very well, he slipped a couple Reese Peanut Butter Cups into the cart when I wasn’t looking.

Normally I would eat all three at once and maybe even more, but I decided it would be best to eat one at a time and save them for bad days or what have you. The thought then occurred to me that if I had bought a huge amount of chocolate, I wouldn’t be putting any aside! I’d probably eat a lot more because I would have more.

It’s the same reason why people who have lots of extra money blow it. And it’s the same reason why we don’t know our own futures. If I knew for a fact that I was going to live 80, 90, 100 more years (Yeah, I’m pushing it!) I don’t think I would value life as much as I do.

I watched my mom pass away when she was only 34, and my whole life that has been the biggest wake up call for me day after day after day, to not take life for granted. Do I live every day as if it were my last? No, not really, cause then I’d be saying goodbye to people everyday for the rest of my life, ha ha. No, I don’t go crazy and go sky diving or bungee jumping or say good bye. But I do value my time here. I value my kids, my husband, my family, my friends, my home, and all the little treasures like my morning coffee…and chocolate (How am I a fitness guru again?? I don’t get it either). I treasure the moments I am lucky enough to have. But I think if I knew I was going to live a long long time, I’d complain more, find a lot of negative things wrong with my life, I’d post pone great opportunities, I would always tell myself: “There’s always tomorrow.”

When we have too much, we don’t recognize the things that really matter. It’s only when we’ve lost, when the “Good Lord” has taketh away from us, that we really start to see what we have and what matters. And for that reason I believe the future is withheld from each of us because life is not to be taken for granted!

“A man who dares to waste one hour of time has not discovered the value of life.”- Charles Darwin

~Tanya~

This entry was posted in Today's Topic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

