Old Ladies and Crazy Times…

So as most of you know I played in a small skit/play yesterday at a Victorian tea in the King’s Playhouse @ Georgetown. I was extremely nervous because I was playing an 88-year-old woman and I am a 27-year-old girl. I think what made the play a little funnier was the fact that I was pretty well one of the youngest people at that party!

But I am so glad to have been given the chance to do something fun. I fell in love with theatre back in 2008 when I was a part of a theatre arts program in Quebec. The 9 other people and the 2 bosses we had were like family, still are. I’ll never forget that summer!

So here I am, inspired now after 4 years to start writing plays again and start acting again. It’s something I love to do, especially the writing/directing/stage managing. The acting is fun but it’s not a lifelong dream of mine and truthfully I don’t feel I am that good at it! But it’s a fun project.

I started writing a play the other day. Not sure how it will go over but the main character is a funny old lady. There is just something about old ladies that makes everyone adore them, whether they are bitter and bitchy or happy-go-lucky. I have met a few lately who really inspire the character in the play I am currently writing. And when it’s done I hope it can come to life at the Georgetown Playhouse and I hope you will all be able to make it out! I will, after all, probably be one of the characters. 🙂

So that’s what I have been up to the last month or so. I feel alive and inspired again. Sometimes being a stay at home mom you start losing yourself when you don’t keep up hobbies and projects that keep you going. I think it’s important to make sure you always have something to do. It’s really hard otherwise and the days can seem so long.

BUT I do have good news, Ryver is finally using the toilet every day now. He hasn’t made any mistakes in almost a week! Very proud and very happy! Thought for a minute there I was gonna have to start making my own diapers with the cost of having 2 kids using them! jk.

I’m off to do some more writing and enjoy some of this beautiful weather before the rain falls this evening!

~Tanya~

This entry was posted in Today's Topic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

