Where Has The Moment Gone?

Yesterday I was sitting on the couch near the window and I noticed something peculiar in the corner of my eye. I looked outside and right there at the window was a little hummingbird. I have never seen one so close! I was astonished. I have seen them many times before but from afar. This one was inches away from my face with nothing but a sheet of glass between us. Now, I know it’s simply a hummingbird and many of you have seen one of these little guys before, but it really was precious!

I feel as though we live in a time where moments are being stolen from us. They are far and few between. Everything we do now is about making it quick. We want our food made for us and on the go. We want our workouts to be only 30 minutes long but making a huge impact. We rush through our day at work just so we can enjoy those few hours at home resting. Monday comes along and we rush to get to Friday because we miss the weekend, but then the weekend passes so quickly!
We don’t like waiting for hours in the doctor’s office or on hold with the phone company for more than a few minutes. Waiting in line at the grocery store sucks (so badly that they have to keep magazines and candy at the front to keep us entertained while we wait). Getting stuck behind someone going 20 under the speed limit on the highway is a total bummer and if you ever want to see the aggressive side of someone, get them behind the wheel of the car following the slow guy! We want fast.

We want our babies to grow up and be independent so they don’t rely on us so much and we can catch a breath. But then they grow up and we’re sad, we want them to be babies again.

There is a quote that says, Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take; but by the moments that take our breath away. My fear is that the moments that take our breath away are fewer and fewer because we are having a hard time living IN the moment. We’re always waiting for what’s to come, never fully enjoying what already is. It’s something I struggle with as well. But when I do stop to take a breath and look at what’s going on around me, I see so much!

I admire people who make the most out of life. The ones who see it as a canvas, a blank canvas, a canvas they can paint with every color under the sun. I admire people who don’t worry about what may happen, but rather just seize the moment. It may lead to disappointment sometimes, but the majority of the time it leads to great things. You meet new people, you open new doors, you travel new paths. And really, at the end of the day, it doesn’t matter if another day is to come or not because on this day you made the most of every moment, every opportunity. And to me, that is what is most important in life. Not the unpaid bills or the many projects we have to finish, not deadlines, or schedules at work. What matters is this moment.

~Tanya~

This entry was posted in Today's Topic. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where Has The Moment Gone?

  1. Muriel says:

    This was in a birthday card I rec’d from my son and daughter inlaw: Legends say that hummingbirds float free of time carrying our hopes for love,joy and celebrations.The hummingbird’s delicate grace reminds us that life is rich,beauty is everywhere,every personal connection has meaning and that laughter is life’s awesome creation..

Leave a Reply

