Ain’t about the Cha-Ching Cha-Ching…Ba-Bling Ba-Bling

So, as most of you know now this month has been a little tough with everything that happened regarding the house, but happily we all moved forward….well…we tried 😉

Last night I was busy for only seconds and Lewis, my youngest, managed break my coffee pot. I swear, take my eyes off these boys for even 3 seconds and something is bound to happen!

Now, they have managed to break DVD players, TV’s (older ones of course), dishes, toys, jewelry, etc. But take a mother’s coffee away and watch her dissolve!

Anyways, that was last night, I was disappointed but I knew a new coffee maker was around $20 so I wasn’t going to lose any sleep over it.

Then this morning I woke up and I turned on the hot water only to find out we don’t have any. This was caused because of our washing machine. It doesn’t do cold washing so I have to use the warm/hot water and we do a lot of laundry so it managed to burn out the hot water tank. Anyways, so this meant not only having to call a plumber (and live without hot water until he is available), but also having to buy a new washer/dryer combo with a credit card we finally had managed to pay off recently.

I was pretty down to say the least because if there is one thing that stresses me out, it’s money…or lack thereof! It seems like beyond the regular bills of everyday life, there’s always something else, like the car needing new parts or winter tires. Like replacing broken coffee pots, or whatever.

But Mike was a good sport and reminded me there is only one life to live and if I keep stressing I will burn myself out. And it’s true, I know.

So chin up, I watched my kids go about their day instead and I noticed something. Kids are so innocent in the way that they just have so much joy and find happiness in everything. Today they took Styrofoam and ripped it to shreds (pain in the ass to clean up by the way) but they laughed and laughed and laughed, this was exciting to them. Later I was watching Ellen and when she dances, they dance. It’s really cute to watch because they just get so much joy out of this one simple pleasure.

I can’t help but wonder when life starts stealing away our innocence and replacing it with bills, and jobs, and deadlines we can’t meet. When do we stop enjoying life? Why does it have to be so stressful? Even the other day I went on FB a bunch of times (as if something exciting or life changing is going to happen with an hour) and nothing at all was going on. No messages, no cool updates, nothing. Everyone has gone quiet and started hibernating!

We have so many privileges that we never had before. So many ways to connect, so many  things to see and ways to see them. But we’re so wrapped up in how we’re going to get by without having the bank cease everything that we miss out on so much.

I guess my point is that in watching my children today I realized just how truly important all these little moments are. How simple pleasures can bring joy. And how my biggest accomplishment is my children because they remind me how life should be lived.

~Tanya~

This entry was posted in Today's Topic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

