It’s not always about being ‘Skinny’…

skinnyLet’s save some time here and all just admit that the “swimsuit model” to your left is way too damn skinny! Like, sick kind of skinny. I’d like to say that no woman would want this level of ‘thin’ but there are women out there who would.

Fortunately, I am NOT one of them. I am happy with my weight and don’t feel I need to lose anything. So let me share why I am on this “Get Fit” journey…

Since I was a tween I have always cared about health, fitness, and nutrition. I didn’t always know how to use it properly and I really didn’t have all the knowledge I have now, but I always took an interest. I can honestly even say that I know my body pretty well by now, too much I think sometimes! It can be a good thing but it can be a bad thing too. However, like I said, it’s a passion for me. Just as some might be taken by religion or travel or some other 3rd thing (lol, can’t think right now), I am taken by this.

Mind you, I have always been off and on about it. I’ll go head over heels into it and then stop for months. Especially during my pregnancies, I didn’t care about nutrition! Chocolate? Bring it on! So I had some weigh to work with afterwards.

Right now there are a few different reasons why I am on this journey. I am currently taking a course in Personal Training. It’s a 300-page textbook with an exam at the end and if I pass I get my certificate. I am pretty psyched! Afterwards I’d like to work in a gym. Or maybe open my own one day, who knows! I am a girl of many big dreams!

Anyways, I’ve been doing the Insanity workouts and am on my 3rd week now. It’s a challenge to get through those workouts, I won’t lie! They make Jillian Michaels look like fun. But I love a good challenge. However, for the first couple weeks I wasn’t paying attention to my nutrition. I just ate what I had in the house. I know what’s healthy but I usually can’t afford the good stuff so I eat what I can and hope the workouts just burn all the extra calories. Well, the other night I took a look at the nutrition guide that comes with Insanity and learned all about my caloric needs (I will show you how to do this later, pretty cool) and found that I am suppose to be getting about 1700 calories a day.

Anyways, I decided to start keeping a food journal, which I have been doing now for two days…it’s hard! Having to track everything, calculate the calories/carbs/protein..(thank God there are sites to help you with all that). But oh boy am I learning a lot. First thing I learned is that I am NOT eating the right amount…in fact I am eating about 3 times more than I should and not at all what I should be! (I guess wine & munchies don’t count!)

This also makes me wonder how much I am over feeding the rest of my family. It’s crazy when you start measuring out your food and counting the calories. I mean, the other night my hubby had some chips and I thought, I’ll just make myself a baked potato. Smart eating, right? Hmm…well apparently 19 plain chips vs a baked white potato both have the same amount of calories. And this just basically broke me down and I said, F*** it, I’m eating some chips. 😉 lol. It’s not always about the calories I guess…because one is def healthier than the other. So knowing the difference is a big deal. Thankfully I have been reading up on all this stuff for years and years so I feel pretty educated! It just gets a little overwhelming when I get ahead of myself.

I go through all of this, though, not to be skinny but because it’s my passion. It’s not always fun, it can be a lot of work, but I love it. I love learning, I love knowing my body, I love being educated in health & nutrition, and I love the rush I get when I am sweating my ass off and can barely breath. I love the burn! I know not everyone does and that’s fine…but for me, I just can’t get enough…for now lol.

So here is how you’d calculate your caloric needs, have fun!…

For Women: 655 + (4.35 x weight in pounds) + (4.7 x height in inches) – (4.7 x age in years) =
For Men: 66 + (6.23 x weight in pounds) + (12.7 x height in inches) – (6.8 x age in years) =

Now take your number from above and multiply by the level of exercise listed below:

modThe number that you now have will tell you your calorie needs for weight maintenance.
You can also adjust this number up or down depending on your weight loss or gain goals.

-For weight loss, subtract 500 calories per day from your number above.
-For weight maintenance, do nothing. Just use the number from above.
-For weight gain, add 200-300 calories per day to your number from above.

Hope that helped a bit! 🙂

~Tanya~

This entry was posted in Today's Topic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

